|The Zajezdnia tram depot was established in 1913 along with the start-up of a broad-gauge tram line in Cracow - it was the second facility of this type at the time, as there was also a six-track hall nearby built for the purposes of a narrow-gauge track - currently a home to the Museum of Municipal Engineering. |
Together with the development of the tram network in the post-war period, construction of a new tram depot located in Podgórze was planned. Works began right before the outbreak of the war and continued during the occupation. After its start-up, the old depot at Wawrzyńca Street started to gradually lose its significance.
At the beginning of the 1960s when trams were ultimately removed from the depot accompaniedby liquidation ofthe rail line, the depot building served as a place for bus workshops and warehouses.
|At that point the depot entirely lost its importance. Later, for many years the historical building was home to a go-karttrack, on which the first driving steps were taken, among others, by Robert Kubica. The building, however, was closed in 2007, due to the danger of collapsing. Since June 2012 Stara Zajednia (Old Tram Depot) by DeSilva has been operating in the current form as a restaurant and a mini brewery.|
The renovated building of Stara Zajezdnia is a unique facility. The hall is an example of wooden framework architecture with brick filling, very rare in Cracow, commonly called the “Prussian wall”. The hall front is decorated with a picturesque top bearing a clock with Art Nouveau finish. The Main Hall belongs to an architectural and construction complex, which is under legal protection - entered into the register of monuments in 1985 and the World Cultural and Natural Heritage List UNESCO, and known as a historical monument.